top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbbie Stewart

The more I stare at the word elephant, the weirder it looks...

Comvine the Elephant, Sen Monorom

Elephants! Such majestic, beautiful creatures of which I have grown such love for. Over the day, we stumbled across the 5 elephants that are owned by the NGO I went on the trek and tour with. They had been bought in order to get them away from their original and painful working lives (lugging hot resin on their backs, elephant riding until they can't walk anymore or heavy farm work). They are never forced to see people; simply lured with bananas, given a wash and then they may leave when they so wish. Obviously, to a degree, they are in somewhat of a routine. However, if you knew you could go to your kitchen at a certain time for free food, a little cuddle and have a bath ready and waiting - I’m assuming you would do so too?


Weirdly enough, the only other British person within the group had mutual friends with me! Typical isn't it, you try so hard to get as far away from home, or at least, not see people you know or who know you, but people always find you somehow... Tis a small world. However, it was nice and now I'm back home we're around 30 minutes away from each other.


Spending the day with the elephants was magical. They're so much bigger than you expect them to be and love their grub. I love that they are free to roam. Although, there were nearly 20 of us in the group (which I felt was way too many) and I can't imagine that would feel great for them. It is likely that they're familiar with it, but it did make me really aware sometimes so I would back off in order to give them, be it a little, space. Another factor I noticed (and we are all guilty of this at some point) was that we were all so ready with our cameras that we forgot to take in what we were actually witnessing; elephants! In real life, in the flesh, in front of us, breathing, eating, chilling, waving their trunks around, stealing our bananas... It's not exactly an everyday occurrence... Yet, we were still all there to photograph/video the experience - and for who? You guys? Our memory? Either way, I did obviously want some photographic evidence (of some sort, for me more photographic than social media-ish), but then I put my phone and camera away so that I could actually experience this once-in-a-lifetime experience...

 

Lesson number thirteen: remember to put away your phone or camera and remind yourself to experience the moment fully. It is not all about the gram...

 

We didn't see all the elephants in one go, instead we walked to find them in their favourite grazing spots. Mr Tree told us at the start of the day that we shouldn't expect them to be there or to arrive, because in all honesty; they may not. This could be frustrating to some, as you pay nearly $90 for the 2-day elephant trek, but for me I would much rather know that my money has gone towards the elephants' life in an ethical way, rather than it go into them being forced to see me because I paid for it... Anyway, I also agree that sometimes it's actually quite important to expect the worst, because that way you are always positively surprised. You may say "what a terrible way to live" but in all honesty, I had this mindset pretty much throughout my travels, because if you think "ahh I won't see the elephants" and then BOOM you see all 5; you have a day that you will NEVER forget. Otherwise I would constantly get my hopes up and then possibly, most likely, get my heart broken... Anyway, I guess thats another lesson...

 

Lesson number fourteen: if you expect very little from a situation, or someone for that matter, you tend to be pleasantly surprised... especially when travelling!

 

So, we found all of the elephants in their fave spots (Sophie from afar as she isn't the friendliest) but I actually found that experience to be the most beautiful because we all just stood in awe, watching her walk from one side of the river to the other. SO MAJESTIC. Another one of them came down to the lake after and some gave her a bath, others fed the fish and the rest just watched and swam about. She stayed for a little bit and then decided she'd had enough and so went.

Sophie walking across the river...

 

Early evening arrived and we took a strenuous walk up a hill from the jungle to the trucks. A short drive later and I was back at Indigenous People's Lodge, this time in a different hut, but it felt good to be back.


Travelling solo has many perks but also some negatives. Being a young woman attracts unwanted attention sometimes and a man staying at the same place approached me whilst I ate. I am very aware of myself when alone, however, I also don't like to assume or be rude. He persistently asked for my phone number, which led to me to giving him a fake phone number (to be safe) however, him then trying to ring it when I was still there proved slightly problematic as it was clearly wrong. I just wanted to eat my fooooood and he made me feel so uncomfortable; plus the fact he was staying in the same place and knew I was alone. Anyway, I just got up and left my half drunk beer and food (sad but hey, safety first)... I stayed in my hut for a good hour, paranoid he would come and knock on it, but luckily no knock came and I slept soundly; dreaming about my day with the ellephanttttsssszzzzzz...

 

Lesson number fifteen: as a female solo-traveller, you must have a balance between having fun and being safe. Even though it sucks, you really must have your guard up, even if someone seems really friendly and nice.

 

A few snaps from our time with the lelliphanttttssss...

 
 
 
 

Next time: I play tourist in Siem Reap...

 

0 comments
bottom of page