top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbbie Stewart

A grand Khmer Wedding and final goodbyes...

On the edge in the Jungle, Sen Monorom, Cambodia

Travelling allows you as a person to connect so deeply with others when you least expect it. I made friends and shared moments that really do not happen in the everyday mundane side of life. You're an explorer, meaning you have to let people in from time to time; something you don't have to do when you have a routine, job or specific lifestyle you're comfortable in.


The people I met throughout my travels probably assume they've been forgotten; yet, in all honesty, they helped shape them. Without the open and honest approach that some people had with me, I wouldn't have enjoyed my time the way in which I did.


For example, someone helped me pretty must as soon as I needed it, which was when I had arrived in Kuala Lumpur and just stepped off the bus from the airport; they looked quirky and friendly. We both seemed lost and gravitated towards each other. They spoke first, thankfully, and asked where I was going. Unfortunately, we were going in opposite directions, however, after the nightmare of trying to check-in to my hostel and failing, I ended up changing hostels to the one they were in. This was an amazing decision and turning up to a strange place and seeing someone familiar (be it someone I'd known for an hour) made a massive difference to my confidence. So to you, I thank you.


I could be here for a while writing about everyone who made a difference, but, if I met you, thank you and you are not forgotten.

 

I had the absolute pleasure of photographing and being a part of a traditional Khmer wedding. This is something that I still cannot ever fathom happened. Countless dress changes, loud music, bountiful amounts of proud family members and local villagers, an area for drinks, music, laughter and getting ready; it was honestly an unforgettable experience. I wore a dress I had made in Vietnam; mustard yellow with cute, minimalistic flowers on. I photographed most of the morning, which was an incredibly early start for me... I witnessed the official ceremony, I think? It was all a bit blurry and a lot was spoken in Khmer. Then, once the afternoon heat kicked in, the ACE gang (people I worked with at school whilst teaching English) and friends eventually arrived. This led to one too many beers and wines; especially with my fellow British friend, I miss you buddy! Photos, good food, plaiting countless little girl's hair, dancing, lots of hugs and eventually, after many many tears, I made my way back to Phnom Penh for the very last time.

The Bride and Groom on their Wedding Day, Kampot

The emotions I felt were insane and incredibly strong. This was the first time I’d lived alone, had my own flat, lived abroad and taught English to amazing foreign students; I had created a life of my own. It suddenly all hit me, whilst fairly drunk in the minibus back to my Aussie friend’s flat, and I just broke down. Was I doing the right thing by leaving? Should I give it another go? Did I give up too soon? Why am I leaving these amazing people who have taken care of me and made me feel so comfortable in myself? These people all helped me more than they will ever know and I will be forever grateful for the amazing and sometimes sad moments we shared together. In the end, and mainly when I sobered up, I remembered why I had set off on this new journey; in my heart I knew it was time to move on.


After a night full of giggles, reminiscing and planning; me and my Aussie friend enjoyed our final evening of chilling. Such an honestly amazing human being. Our friendship is something I truly cherish and if you’re reading this; thank you.


The following morning I left Cambodia for the final time and boarded a plane to the Philippines...

 

More from the grand Khmer wedding day...

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Next time: Endless sunsets and mixed emotions in the Philippines...

 

0 comments
bottom of page