top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbbie Stewart

"One Char Kuey Teow please, actually, better make it two..."

George Town in Penang, Malaysia

No, I did not get on one of these, although it was quite funny to witness...


25/10 - 26/10 - Penang, Malaysia


What a crazy 10 days I have had in Malaysia... I am just over the moon that I decided to do this trip! I am currently back on a plane, this time from Penang to KL before meeting some friends, and now fellow travellers, in Vietnam. I had to say farewell to the solo-traveller today, and already being a bit hungover/knackered, I felt very out of sorts. I've really enjoyed their company and I feel grateful to have met someone so easy to get along with. Completely different people mind, but I think that's the case with any good friendship, plus it’s important when travelling to be around someone with different plans to yours; that way it gives you even more to explore!


I keep finding that moments fall into place on this trip. I'm learning to let go and not control every situation. Travelling can be stressful, but I couldn't be happier that I've been given this opportunity to grow, explore, dream, eat, take pictures and meet many types of people.

 

Looking back, Penang was euphoric! I think I could live there for a while one day. Leaving was actually so strange, I felt extremely comfortable and could have stayed a few more days.


On the first day we got there, we explored (we being me and 3 other travellers: the solo traveller and a pair that had coincided whilst also travelling solo). The famous street art was fantastic and you would spontaneously stumble across it every now and then; it was like a game of hide-and-seek. We explored and wandered the streets looking for art and food, eventually finding somewhere with traditional Malaysian cuisine; I can only describe it as similar to Pad Thai and called Char Kuey Teow. Either way it was exactly what we needed and was so good that some of us had seconds!

🎵"Where Char Kuey Teow dreams are maaaade of..."🎵

 

Unfortunately, I only had one night to properly enjoy the George Town nightlife, so even though the pair weren’t up for some beverages, the solo-traveller and I decided to go out for my last evening. A good few buy-one-get-one-free drinks and games of jenga were shared along 'Love Lane'. I suggest trying to have a place in mind that you want to try before going out, otherwise it is like being in Ayia Napa where you're heckled left right and centre… It can be slightly overwhelming and somewhat irritating if all you want is a bowl of chips and a free drink or two!


A little history about Love Lane, Penang: “Some say that the lane was where European sailors and soldiers hooked up with local ladies among the bamboo groves. Brothels were then established along Love Lane. Later, as the Chinese and the Peranakans moved in, some businessmen kept their mistresses along the lane. Today, however, Love Lane maintains a trendier, if not hippier, image. Most pre-war shophouses along both sides of Love Lane have been refurbished and used as budget hostels, cafes and bars. A few shops that cater for tourists have also been set up here.” https://penang.fandom.com/wiki/Love_Lane

 

The following day I had until the evening to be at Penang airport, before departing to KL and then onto my Vietnamese adventures. Being a little hungover, the solo-traveller and I rented a trusty ped and went out in the gorgeous sunshine to do a further sketch of the island. After deliberating a 1.5 hour hike in the national park, we decided to just flop on the beach with a coconut (best thing to hydrate with on a hangover,) swim and relax; absolute perfection.

 

Lesson number five: don’t be hungover when you have to catch a flight on your tod. I ended up buying pizza, chocolate raisins and multiple pastries, binge watching Peaky Blinders for hours and feeling very sorry for myself. Actually, maybe it’s not so bad? Although, the post-booze sadness is never nice to endure alone, especially when you didn't really want to leave because you were enjoying yourself so much… Just remember to weigh up your options.

 

OH, and lesson number six: try not to plan too much when you go travelling. Maybe you'll meet people and want to join them, but you can't because you've paid for a flight and obviously won't just drop it and go on that island hopping trip with your new mates you've only known a few hours...

 

More shots from my time in George Town, as it was probably one of my favourite places to take pictures!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

On Sunday: The Vietnamese adventures begin... #staytuned

 

0 comments
bottom of page