top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbbie Stewart

I'll have a bunker please! With a window...

Traveller Bunker Hostel, Cameron Highlands, Malaysia

22/09 - 24/09


Sat with my legs unable to fit completely in a hostel bunker, I immerse myself in the emotions developed from the book I have just read. 'The Lovely Bones' - both tragic and beautiful; absolutely heartbreaking! I watched the film years ago (thinking it was somehow going to be a romcom? How wrong I was…) It was powerful then, but reading it now? It has hit me how precious life is.


The last few days have been euphoric. Me and the solo-traveller have joined forces, enjoying great adventures and conversations. Since arriving in Cameron Highlands the weather has been cool and stormy; unpredictable in its outcome. We hired a ped and drove all around the area, visiting the breathtaking views of the three tea plantations surrounding us.

Peds. Are. Amazing! I would be lost without the confidence of someone else as the driver, but it gives you such a sense of freedom and it reminds me how far away from home I am. Health and safety? HA!


Someone has been keeping an eye on us and making sure we stay as dry as possible, whilst also allowing plans to be effortless and memorable. Today, we went on a walk, that turned into a hike, through the jungle and it was just glorious! The rain held off until 20 minutes after our arrival to the hostel. Luck or planned? Who knows, but it made our cheap and cheerful roti even more comforting.

 

Something else that I found to be quite amazing was how a dog living in this area (unsure if owned) followed us from start to finish on the 6 mile trek. We named him Roti. This came from our new found love of Roti Chanai, as stated before, which is a traditional Malaysian breakfast consisting of a light rice flour pancake with subtle curry sauce on the side. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. He seemed to be feared by most, but with us he appeared content. Even the solo-traveller, not being a dog lover, began to feel connected to him. Strange isn't it how an animal can make you feel safe. We found ourselves following him, him following us, losing him and feeling sad that he may not come back, to have him loyally return with what seemed like a grin.

Roti in the Jungle, Cameron Highlands, Malaysia

 

I can feel myself falling quite deeply into my own mind. I love being able to take time with my thoughts and learn so much from meeting strangers. I felt sad leaving people in the city to come up here in the north. For example, a lovely German traveller we bumped into on our rush for Roti Chanai at 10.55am. (The “rush” being because it's not usually served after 11am…) They asked to join us and we said yes. We then spent the day exploring KL and the famous Batu Caves. This particular traveller seemed very caring and would look out for me, even if they assumed I couldn’t see it, I did. We exchanged laughter, the attempt to learn some German language and me in return sharing what knowledge I have on horoscopes. Horoscopes? I need to learn another language...

Batu Caves, Kuala Lumpar, Malaysia

 

Lesson number four: sometimes you meet people for only a moment, but the memories shared with them were special and will continue to resonate with you.

 

A few more shots from Batu Caves...

Ps. Watch out for them pesky monkeys around the caves as I genuinely am terrified of them because of this day!

The 272 coloured steps leading to the caves...

 

Watch out for the water dropping down, but it is surprisingly refreshing as Malaysia is

SO HUMID...

 
 

Annnnd more from Cameron Highlands...

 
 
 

Next week: It's all about street art and fooooood in George Town, Malaysia!

 


0 comments
bottom of page