top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbbie Stewart

5 westerners, 1 indigenous guy and a dog set off into the jungle...

A family sits at the top of a waterfall in the middle of the Mondulkiri jungle, Cambodia

The day of departure, back to Phnom Penh, was long, tiring and somewhat sad. I had become quite accustomed to being around the trio, and all of a sudden, I was alone again. It's quite strange how attached we become to certain company. Although I didn't always agree with things said and people might rub me the wrong way at times, the fun element of being in a group did always outweigh everything for me.


As soon as I arrived at Da Nang airport I realised I couldn't see my flight on the departure board. I did, for the first time in a long time, freak out. The additional factors of being both hungover and very knackered did not help the situation either. (I didn’t learn my lesson from the last time I was hungover at the airport… trust me, this was not a nice experience). After about 5 minutes of feeling sick and thinking everything negative that may happen; I found an email saying that my original flight had a technical problem and simply changed to later in the day. I breezed through security and flopped on the uncomfortable gate seats for around 3 hours. I filled my time trying to psych myself up for my return to Phnom Penh, having a little cry, laughing about the antics we got up to the night before and feeling a lot of mixed emotions really...


Another few hours, change of gate and free bottle of water to "make up for the lateness" later; I eventually made it onto my flight. The actual time spent on the plane wasn't even a quarter of the time spent at the airport, but, I got it and safely made my way back to the place I called home for 7 months; Cambodia.

 

09/11 - 14/11 - Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Returning back was surprisingly easy. It was quite crazy to realise how much I knew about this 3rd world country now: how to get around, how to top up my phone, what/who to avoid and when I was close to where I wanted to end up; it was all so familiar and really did feel like home.


I stayed in a friend's flat for a few days, giving me the chance to recuperate, wash my 7 outfits and see some friends before I hit the road again; this time it was to explore Cambodia properly. I had spent the majority of my time in the city of Phnom Penh, only getting a chance to visit Kampot/Kep for a short period during the rainy season. So, to compare, it's like living in London and getting to see Cornwall for a few days, or somewhere in the South, but it rained the whole time. You'd basically be missing out on all (what I would call) the good stuff.

Cambodian Sunset, Phnom Penh

 

14/11 - 17/11 - Mondulkiri, Cambodia

My first stop was 8 hours East to a place called Sen Monorom, Mondulkiri. This trip was supposed to happen for my love’s birthday in December; this was before I quit my job and buggered off travelling... So, yes, I felt slightly sad that I was doing it solo, however, I also felt that I deserved it.


When I arrived, I was collected from the bus station and taken in a tuk-tuk, for around 10 minutes, along some very bumpy roads. Indigenous People's Lodge was in the middle of nowhere; such a juxtaposition from 8 hours prior. The air was warm with a slight rural breeze that's not present in the city. I was taken to my little wooden/thatched hut and felt a sudden prang of pure happiness with a hint of guilt; what did I do to deserve this?

My private little hut where I stayed:


After taking some time to settle, I took a bicycle out and pedalled into town on the hunt for some insect repellent. It was a great way to get my bearings and stretch my legs a bit. After breaking quite the sweat, I returned to my hut and engrossed myself in the programme I have been re-watching; Lost. Not sure if it's irony or not, but it's doing what I want it to.

 

The following day was the start of my 2-day elephant jungle trek. (For more info go here: https://www.mondulkiriproject.org/tours/2-day-elephant-jungle-trek-tour/) I was collected in the back of a truck, reminding me so much of time in Zimbabwe, and taken to the place where it all began. After paying and getting a warning from Mr. Tree (“If you aren’t fit and ready for the hike, now is the time to leave…”) 5 of us got taken in a small tuk-tuk to a village. We were greeted by one of the indigenous people who was young, sweet-looking and about to take us 18km into the jungle...


So, 5 westerners, 1 indigenous guy and a dog set off into the jungle. We saw rice workers, cashew trees, bamboo jungles, waterfalls, shared stories, slipped, tripped and watched the sun slowly set as we made it to our sleepover spot in the depths of the jungle. The view, oh the view, it was something I simply can't describe, nor photograph, to really explain/show how it was. Miles of trees, all different heights and sizes with warm cotton-candy colours in the sky from the sun setting over the horizon. Beer in hand, I took it all in, and felt so incredibly grateful. Another one of those moments I felt so truly alive... I may have even shed a tear...

View from the jungle platform where we stayed...

...and the sleepover spot, Mondulkiri

That evening I freshened up in the one, and only, bathroom. It had a makeshift shower but made me feel like a million dollars. I helped make some of the food with our indigenous leader: vegetables (with a hint of salt, sugar, garlic and lemongrass) all boiled in bamboo over the fire. It was delicious! I think I ended up having two or three portions as I hadn't eaten much food for a few days. Guess what followed after? Oh yes, rice wine... and games!


After around 7 bamboo-cup-shots of happy water, 3 games of spoons and some laughs later, the majority of the group vacated to bed. They all had the hike that we did the following day, whereas we were swapping and visiting the elephants! However, before flopping in my hammock that evening, I spent an hour or so on the deck stargazing; it was insane! I saw so many shooting stars and made my usual go-to wish over and over. It was honestly such a special evening to me and I will feel forever lucky to have experienced it.

 

Lesson number twelve: don't forget to look up at the sky, admire the stars, appreciate the moon and remember that you're alive (even if you need to pinch yourself to make sure).

 

More images from the jungle hike...

 
 
 
 

- TREES ARE AMAZING -

 
 
 
 

Next time: It's all about ELEPHANTS!

 

0 comments
bottom of page